Skip to content

UEFA Champions League: These finals ended in penalties

The world of football has its eyes on the Stade de France, where the grand final of the European Champions League will take place, this Saturday, May 28, 2022. Titled 13 times, Real Madrid are aiming for their 14th triumph against Liverpool who run behind his 7th crown.

This final which opposes the attractive formation of Jürgen Klopp to the unpredictable team of Carlo Ancelotti could know its outcome in the penalty shootout. Before this probable scenario, Africa Foot United takes stock of the Champions League finals in the meantime called the European Champion Clubs’ Cup which ended in thirds on goal.

1984: Liverpool – AS Roma

We had to wait for the 29th edition of the Champions Clubs Cup, now called the Champions League, to witness the first final that ended in a penalty shootout. On May 30, 1984 at the Stadio Olympico in Rome, Liverpool won their 4th coronation by beating the Romans on penalties 4 – 2, after 1 – 1 at the end of regular time and extra time. Phil Neal opened the scoring for the Reds in the 13th minute and in the 42nd minute Roberto Pruzzo equalized for AS Roma.

1986: Steaua Bucharest – FC Barcelona

On May 7, 1986, the Romanian club Steaua Bucharest won its only title in the most prestigious of European club competitions against FC Barcelona. After 0 – 0 in the match at the Ramó Sánchez Pizjuán Stadium in Sevilla, goalkeeper Helmuth Duckadam pulled out all the stops in the penalty shootout. He repelled all the attempts of the Catalan shooters, thus allowing Steaua Bucharest to win by 2 to 0, at the end of the session of nerves.

1988: PSV Eindhoven – Benfica Lisbon

In 1988, it was also on penalties that the final between PSV Eindhoven and Benfica Lisbon came to an end. After 0 – 0 at the end of regular time and extra time, the Dutch club lifted the trophy on penalties 6 – 5 in the lair of Neckarstadion in Stuttgart on May 25.

1991: Red Star Belgrade; Olympic Marseille

Like the 1986 and 1988 finals, the 1991 final also resulted in a 0-0 at the end of regulation time and extra time between Red Star Belgrade and Olympique de Marseille at the Stadio San Nicola in Bari (Italy). On penalties, the Serbian club won its first Champions Cup title (5-3) and shattered the Marseille dream on May 29, 1991.

1996: Juventus Turin – Ajax Amsterdam

Juventus Turin won their second Champions League on May 22, 1996 against defending champion Ajax Amsterdam. The Italians won the final on penalties 4-3, after 1-1 after regular time and extra time at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome.

2001: Bayern Munich – Valencia

At the San Siro stadium in AC Milan, on May 23, 2001, Bayern Munich won their 4th C1 with 25 years of waiting. In front of 73,000 spectators, the Bavarian club beat Valencia 5-4 on penalties. The score was 1-1 after regular time and extra time. Both goals in the game were scored from penalties by Gaizka Mendieta for Valencia and Stefan Effenberg for Bayern Munich. On penalties, the hero is called Oliver Kahn, who gave the title to the Germans by stopping Mauricio Pellegrino’s shot.

2003: AC Milan–Juventus

In a 100% transalpine duel, AC Milan deprives Juventus of the title at Old Trafford on May 28, 2003. The Milanese won for the 6th time in European football on penalties 3-2, after 0-0 in the game.

2005: Liverpool–Milan

The final of May 25, 2005 remains for many as the most fabulous in the history of the Champions League. After a titanic, unreal and irrational encounter, the Reds were crowned masters of Europe on penalties 3-2 against AC Milan. The 69,600 spectators at Istanbul’s Atatürk Olympic Stadium witnessed one of the most insane nights in football history. Led 3-0 at half-time, following goals from Paolo Maldini in the 1st minute and Hernán Crespo (38th and 44th minute), Liverpool will come back to score in the second half. This thanks to the great Steven Gerrard, Vladimir Smicer and Xabi Alonso in the 54th, 56th and 60th minute respectively.

2008: Manchester United–Chelsea

Manchester United’s third victory in the Champions League final dates back to 2008, on the evening of May 21 at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow. The Mancunians won against Chelsea by 6 – 5 on penalties, after a perfect equality in the game (1 – 1). Cristiano Ronaldo opened the scoring for Manchester United on the half-hour mark. Frank Lampard equalized for the Blues before half-time.

2012: Chelsea–Bayern

After the painful failure of 2008, Chelsea conquered Europe 4 years later for the first time in its history. It was against Bayern Munich at Arena München on May 19, 2012 by 4 – 3 on penalties. The two teams could not decide after regulation time and extra time (1-1). Author of the equalizing goal with an angry header, Didier Drogba will offer the title to the Blues, by succeeding the last shot.

2016: Real Madrid – Atlético Madrid

This is the year of Real Madrid’s 11th victory in C1. It was the evening of May 28, 2016. The White House beat Atletico Madrid on penalties 5 – 3 at the Giuseppe-Meazza stadium in Milan. It was Cristiano Ronaldo who scored the last winning shot, after Juanfran failed. 1-1 was the score at the end of regulation time and extra time.

© Africafootunited, 2022 Unauthorized use and/or duplication of the brand’s content, images or logo without the express written permission of Africa Foot United is strictly prohibited. Any user who acts in fraud of these copyright notices is liable to civil and criminal prosecution by the publisher of the site.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.