Texas signee Ron Holland from powerhouse Duncanville is known as a McDonald’s All-American

Some huge names from the Dallas space have been chosen for the McDonald’s All-American Recreation in boys basketball.

The distinguished record contains Corridor of Famer Chris Bosh from Lincoln, No. 1 NBA draft decide and two-time All-Star Larry Johnson from Skyline, seven-time All-Star LaMarcus Aldridge from Seagoville, one-time All-Star Julius Randle from Plano Prestonwood Christian and reigning NBA defensive participant of the 12 months Marcus Good from Flower Mound Marcus.

Add five-star Texas signee Ron Holland from Duncanville.

The 6-8 Holland was the one Dallas-area participant chosen Tuesday for a recreation that shall be performed March 28 at Toyota Heart in Houston. He’s ranked because the No. 1 energy ahead within the nation, the No. 1 recruit in Texas and the sixth-best participant in America within the Class of 2023 by 247Sports.

Holland is sort of averaging a double-double, coming into this week at 21.1 factors and 9.5 rebounds for a 21-1 crew. Duncanville is ranked No. 4 within the nation by ESPN.

Holland helped Duncanville win Class 6A state titles in 2021 and 2022, however final 12 months’s championship was stripped by the College Interscholastic League after it dominated that Duncanville used an ineligible participant whose household sought a court docket’s choice to permit him to maintain enjoying throughout a lot of final season . After that ruling, Duncanville ISD determined to have the boys crew forgo the playoffs this season, and it’s enjoying a nationwide schedule outdoors of its district video games.

McKinney was awarded final 12 months’s state championship, and the chief of that crew — five-star Baylor signee Ja’Kobe Walter — joined Holland on the All-American record. The 6-5 Walter, rated the No. 1 taking pictures guard within the nation, is enjoying his senior 12 months at Missouri’s Hyperlink Academy after averaging 23.3 factors and seven.6 rebounds for McKinney final season.

‘A winner’s mentality’: The place Duncanville’s Ron Holland goes, championships usually comply with

Nationally, the massive title who was picked for the All-American Recreation was Bronny James from Sierra Canyon in California. The son of Lakers star LeBron James is an uncommitted four-star recruit and is rated the Thirty third-best participant within the nation by 247Sports. Holland, Walter and James will all play for the West crew.

LeBron James was the MVP of the 2003 McDonald’s All-American Recreation. Different legends who’ve been chosen for the the sport are Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant, Shaquille O’Neal and Kevin Durant, simply to call a number of.

For the third straight season, no Dallas-area women made the All-American crew. Hannah Gusters of Irving MacArthur and Deja Kelly of Duncanville have been the final D-FW women chosen, in 2020.

The Dallas space has produced 58 McDonald’s All-People—32 boys and 26 women. Holland is the fourth boy from Duncanville to make that record, becoming a member of Anthony Black (2022), Perry Jones (2010) and Brian Boddicker (2000).

Final 12 months, three boys from Dallas-area faculties have been chosen—Black, Kimball’s Arterio Morris and Richardson’s Cason Wallace. Two different former D-FW stars, Lewisville native Keyonte George (transferred to Florida’s IMG Academy) and Oak Cliff’s Jordan Walsh (transferred to Hyperlink Academy) have been additionally chosen.

2023: Ron Holland, Duncanville

2022: Anthony Black, Duncanville; Artery Morris, Kimball; Cason Wallace, Richardson

2021: Harrison Ingram, St Mark’s

2019: Tyrese Maxey, South Garland; Samuel Williamson, Rockwall

2016: Marques Bolden, DeSoto; Terrance Ferguson, API; Andrew Jones, Irving MacArthur

2015Jawun Evans, Kimball

2014: Emmanuel Mudiay, Prime Prep; Myles Turner, Euless Trinity

2013: Keith Frazier, Kimball; Matt Jones, DeSoto; Julius Randle, Prestonwood Plan

2012: Isaiah Austin, Arlington Grace Prep; Marcus Good, Flower Mound Marcus

2011: Le’Bryan Nash, Lincoln

2010: Perry Jones, Duncanville

2008: Willie Warren, North Crowley

2006: Darrell Arthur, South Oak Cliff

2005: Byron Eaton, Lincoln; Calvin MilesSkyline

2004: LaMarcus Aldridge, Seagoville

2002: Chris Bosh, Lincoln; Daniel Horton, Cedar Hill; Bracey Wright, The Colony

2000: Brian Boddicker, Duncanville

nineteen ninety six: Glendon Alexander, Carrollton Newman Smith

1991: Jimmy King, Plano East

1987: Larry Johnson, Skyline

2020: Hannah Gusters, Irving MacArthur; Go away Kelly, Duncanville

2019: Jaden Owens, Plano West; Nyah Inexperienced, Allen; Jordyn OliverProsper

2018: Zarielle Inexperienced, Duncanville; Madison Williams, Fort Price Trinity Valley

2017: Jade Williams, The Colony; Chennedy Carter, Mansfield Timberview

2016: Lauren Cox, Flower Mound; Natalie Chou, Plano West; Joyner Holmes, Cedar Hill; Ciera Johnson, Duncanville

2015: Ashley Hearn, Sachse

2014: Ariel Atkins, Duncanville

2012: Moriah Jefferson, THESA; Alexis Jones, Irving MacArthur; Jordan Jones, DeSoto

2010: Tiffany Moore, Frisco; Odyssey Sims, Irving MacArthur

2008: Future Hughes, Kennedale; Brooklyn Pope, Fort Price Dunbar

2006: Allison Hightower, Arlington Seguin; Brittaney RavenNorth Crowley

2003: Tiffany Jackson, Duncanville

2002: Erin Grant, Mansfield

Twitter: @DMNGregRiddle

Discover extra highschool sports activities protection from The Dallas Morning Information right here.

Join our FREE HS publication

Leave a Comment