Skip to content

MotoGP British Grand Prix 2022: UK TV coverage details

The championship has been on hiatus since the Dutch Grand Prix in Assen last June, with the summer break extended by two weeks due to the cancellation of the Finnish Grand Prix which was due to take place on July 10.

Reigning world champion Fabio Quartararo approaches the British GP at the top of the standings with 21 points, after crashing out at the Dutch GP. Aleix Espargaro of the Aprilia team moved up to fourth place after being relegated to last place in the collision with the Yamaha rider.

MORE: Why a Suzuki refugee thinks he deserves MotoGP’s toughest challenge.

Quartararo, winner of the British GP last year, was penalized with a long lap for this incident, which he denounced last June.

Ducati’s Francesco Bagnaia won the race at Assen but comes to Silverstone mired in controversy after he was involved in a drink-driving crash while on holiday in Ibiza last month.

During the summer break, Honda announced that it had signed a two-year contract with Suzuki’s Alex Rins, who will join the LCR team from 2023 replacing Alex Marquez, who left for Gresini.

What is the MotoGP British Grand Prix?

The British Grand Prix is ​​the 12th round of the 2022 MotoGP season and takes place at Silverstone, which has hosted British MotoGP since 2010. The race was canceled in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, while the 2018 race was canceled due to track issues in the rain.

This year, the British GP has been moved to August 5-7 instead of its traditional bank holiday weekend at the end of the month.

What time is the MotoGP British Grand Prix?

The British Grand Prix will take place over three days, from Friday August 5th to Sunday August 7th.

The FP1 and FP2 sessions will take place on Fridays at 9:55 a.m. BST and 2:10 p.m. BST, and will each last 45 minutes.

FP3 will take place on Saturday at 9.55am BST, and will also last 45 minutes. FP4 will take place at 1:30 p.m. BST and will last for half an hour.

Qualifying will take place at 2:10 p.m., with the 15-minute Q1 session first. The 15-minute Q2 session will take place right after at 2:35 p.m. BST.

The warm-up for the MotoGP class will take place at 9.40am BST on Sunday morning.

The 2022 British Grand Prix will take place on Sunday at 13:00 BST and will be run over 20 laps.

The Moto3 race will take place on Sunday at 11.20am, while the Moto2 race will take place after MotoGP at 2.30pm BST. The Moto2 race will take place after the MotoGP race at 2:30 p.m. BST, to allow the MotoGP race to start at its traditional time of 2:00 p.m. CET for European spectators.

How can I watch the British MotoGP GP?

In the UK, BT Sport has the exclusive rights to broadcast the entire 2022 MotoGP World Championship live on its channels.

The program is as follows:

Friday – FP1, FP2 – 9am BST to 4pm BST (BT Sport 2; Sky channel 414)
Saturday – FP3, FP4, Qualifying – 09:00 BST to 16:00 BST (BT Sport 2; Sky channel 414)
Sunday – Warm-up, races – 9:15am BST to 4:30pm (BT Sport 2; Sky channel 414)

The 2022 MotoGP British GP will also be broadcast live on free-to-air television in the UK on ITV.

Race day only will be broadcast live on ITV4 and the main ITV channel on Sunday 7 August.

Coverage will begin at 10.45am BST on ITV4 (Sky channel 120) with the Moto3 race, before switching to ITV (Sky channel 103) at 12.25pm ​​for the MotoGP and Moto2 races.

ITV coverage will be provided by Matt Roberts, and will be the second race to be shown live on terrestrial television in the UK in 2022, following the German GP in June.

No further MotoGP races are scheduled to be broadcast live on free-to-air TV in the UK in 2022.

Will there be summaries of the British GP MotoGP 2022?

ITV4 UK will show MotoGP highlights on Mondays on ITV4 at 8:00 p.m. BT Sport will offer regular replays of the British GP. Check your TV guide for the next broadcast.

Who has won the MotoGP British Grand Prix at Silverstone the most times?

Jorge Lorenzo – 3 (2010, 2012, 2013)
Mark Marquez – 1 (2014)
Alex Rins – 1 (2019)
Andrea Dovizioso – 1 (2017)
Valentino Rossi – 1 (2015)
Maverick Vinales – 1 (2016)
Fabio Quartararo – 1 (2021)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.