Skip to content

French Sailing Federation: News

all – on 2022-07-14

The new French Champions are known! At the end of a great week of regattas with races every day thanks to good conditions and despite the hot weather, the 380 Minimes closed the famous French Minimes 2022 Championship this Thursday. Hourtin Lake was this year a great playground for all the young people who come ashore every day with a big smile.

After two races validated for each series, the new French champions are on the podium today! Accompanied by Manon Audinet, athlete from the France SailGP Team, who was present for this last day of the Championship to hand out the invitations to the 10 young titleholders who will have the chance to participate in the Inspire Program in RS Feva during the SailGP Saint-Tropez on 10 and September 11th. “I am very happy to be here on behalf of the France SailGP Team to offer them this well-deserved invitation! It reminds me of my first years as a regatta, plus I’ve done several regattas on this beautiful body of water, it’s great!” adds Manon Audinet.

Lots of twists and turns for this last day of the French Minimes Championship! Indeed, some runners-up the day before managed to grab points on the first to win the title in the last race. Nothing was decided this morning for the first two male snowboarders who were 3 points apart, and after a very good demonstration with a first race of 2 and a victory in the last of the Championship, Jules Rouquette took the head in its category. Among the girls, Maya Decroix won after a very regular week.

In the Optimist, it’s a turn of events for the girls because the difference of ten points made us say that Clara Charpin would be titled today but a desalination in the last race prevented her from becoming Champion and the very beautiful day of Justine Barbarin with 2 second places allowed her to win the golden bell! And with 4 races in mind, it is Ulysse Raison who becomes French Champion 2022!

The twins make very good pairs in this French Championship since the double series are won by Jules and Victor Penvern in the Interseries Catamaran, closely followed by a female crew, Maiwenn Cadic and Klara Champs who won a race. It’s a 100% Breton podium for Catamarans!

In RS Feva, it was the brothers Côme and Théo Henry who won the Grail with impressive regularity, and 7 victories out of the 12 validated races. The first female crew, Marie Peroneille and Marie-lou Malmejac, came in 4th place.

In Open Skiff, it was Arcachonnaise Emma Charfas Grasset who won 3 points from second. More great races and suspense until the end! On the other hand, it is a clear victory for Thimothé Lesniak with a 12-point lead.

The reactions of the runners:

French Champion Techno 293 OD Maya Decroix, CNBPP:

“At the beginning there was not too much wind then it picked up during the second race of the day. I’m super happy to keep my first place. I am licensed at the CNBPP and I have another girlfriend from my club on the podium, it’s great!”

French Champion Techno 293 OD – Jules Rouquette, La Rochelle Nautique:

“Since the second day, I’ve been second with a bit of a delay and I’ve been picking up point by point all week to come back up. This morning, I left with the blue jersey and 2 points difference. I gave my best, with the objective of not making any mistakes in the races of the day and that’s what happened. I am super happy to win this title of champion of France!”

French Open Skiff Champion – Timothé Lesniak, CV Cazaux Lac:

“I was stressed this morning going out on the water. After a few mistakes in the first race of the day, I made a great last to keep my yellow jersey and win the Open Skiff title. I still have a year of Minimes left so it’s great to get this result. ”

French Optimist Champion – Justine Barbarin, SR Antibes:

“I managed to come back today. The day was less shifty. I concentrated well when I started this morning without looking at the gap points with the first so as not to stress myself too much. I am very happy with this championship”.

Congratulations to all our champions and all the Minimes who didn’t give up during the 5 days of racing!

Thank you to all the volunteers of the Cercle de la Voile de Bordeaux Carcans-Maubuisson, as well as the Ligue Nouvelle Aquitaine for this great organization and all the activities on land and at sea.

The podiums:

Optimist Girls

1 – Justine BARBARIN – SR Antibes

2 – Clara CHARPIN – CN Carantec

3 – Overcab DELTEL – YC Cannes

Optimist Boys

1 – Ulysse REASON – ASPTT Marseille

2 – Louis JALLABERT – Fosséen Sailing Center

3 – Alexandre VIDAL – SNO Nantes

Techno 293 OD 6.8 Girls

1 – Maya DECROIX – CN La Baule le Pouliguen Pornichet

2 – Charline QUERCY – CN La Baule le Pouliguen Pornichet

3 – Jada LAPORAL BALZAC – CN Lorient

Techno 293 OD 6.8 Boys

1 – Jules ROUQUETTE – Nautical La Rochelle

2 – Elemiah RICHARD – YC Pointe Rouge

3 – Célian YESSAD – Armentieres CLL

Open Skiff Girls

1 – Emma CHARFAS GRASSET – Resume Arcachon

2 – Maia GARGANI – Fosséen Sailing Center

3 – Pauline WATTS – CV Arcachon

Open Skiff Boys

1 – Timothé LESNIAK – CV Cazaux Lac

2 – Nicodème JONCQUEZ – YC du Calaisis

3 – Elouen LEVEQUE – YC Carnac

RS Feva Open

1 – Côme HENRY and Théo HENRY – SN Plaisance du Havre

2 – Lucca MAGNAN and Ugo TAVERNIER RIO – Saint Barth YC

3 – Mathieu BORDET and Pierre LAIZE – CNV Aix les Bains

1st female crew: Marie Peroneille – ASPTT Marseille and Marie-Lou MALMEJAC – YC Pointe Rouge

Interseries Catamaran Open

1 – Jules PENVERN – Victor PENVERN – CN Lorient

2 – Maiwenn Cadic – The Seagull Sinagote and Klara CHAMPS – CN Lorient

3 – Max CASTILLA and Paul LE MAUX – CN Lorient

By: FFVoile – G. Chevalier/B. Beurel


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.