Skip to content

CAF announces details of African Super League launch, AFCON 2023 and key Champions League decisions.

CAF President Patrice Motsepe

The President of the Confederation of African Football (CAF), Dr Patrice Motsepe, announced today that the Executive Committee has decided that the African Super League will start in August 2023 and will be launched in Tanzania in August 2022.

Details, including the official name, will be revealed at the launch event.

The competition will breathe new life into African club competition. The winners and participants of the first African Super League will receive significant prizes and tournament proceeds will include substantial solidarity payments to CAF’s 54 member associations.

At last year’s Extraordinary General Assembly in Egypt, the 54 Member Associations voted unanimously to launch the competition and gave a mandate to the President and the Executive Committee to lead the implementation of the competition.

Dr Motsepe said: “The decision has now been taken to implement the CAF Super League. It will start in August 2023 and we will launch it during the 44th Ordinary Assembly of CAF in Tanzania on August 10. We have been inundated with investors and sponsors, who are eager to partner us with the CAF Super League. He has enormous potential to dramatically elevate African football and make it even more powerful.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino attended the CAF Executive Committee today and Dr Motsepe thanked the FIFA President for his support in establishing the African Super League.

“We will be engaging with stakeholders over the coming weeks to discuss tournament mechanics and will release more details shortly. A significant portion of CAF Super League money will be reinvested in African football and part of the process is to give $1 million each year to each of CAF’s 54 member associations as a contribution to the development of the soccer and youth. We also want to seek to increase the prize money for the CAF Men’s and Women’s Champions Leagues,” said Dr Motsepe.

TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations Côte d’Ivoire 2023 postponed to January and February 2024

CAF President announced today that the Executive Committee has decided that the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations in Côte d’Ivoire will be postponed to January and February 2024.

Originally scheduled for June 23 to July 23, 2023, Dr Motsepe said the postponement was a direct and unique result of adverse weather conditions in the country and after also receiving additional technical advice from experts on the adverse effects of the organization of matches during this period. .

June and July are the rainy seasons in Côte d’Ivoire.

TotalEnergies CAF Champions League Final

The CAF President has announced that in future, the TotalEnergies CAF Champions League Final will now be played over two legs.

2022 TotalEnergies CAF Super Cup Final

As the two clubs currently holding the title of the TotalEnergies Champions League (Wydad AC) and the TotalEnergies Confederation Cup (RS Berkane) are both from the same country, Morocco, the Executive Committee has approved the recommendation of the Interclubs Committee of CAF to play in the Final TotalEnergies Cup of the 2022 CAF Super Cup in Morocco.

Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations 2024

CAF has received two bids from Egypt and Morocco for the Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations 2024. The Executive Committee has decided to grant Egypt the right to host the Africa Cup of Nations of Beach Soccer 2024.

TotalEnergies African Nations Championship Algeria 2022

The Executive Committee took note of the report of the Inspection Delegation team led by Vice President Seido Mbombo Njoya and Executive Member Moses Magogo on Algeria’s state of preparedness.

The Executive Committee has confirmed that the opening match of TotalEnergies CHAN is from January 13 to February 04, 2023

TotalEnergies Women’s Champions League 2022 host country

CAF had twice opened the bid process for the 2022 TotalEnergies Women’s Champions League, and only the Royal Moroccan Football Federation submitted a bid.

The Executive Committee therefore decided to award the competition to Morocco as the sole bidder.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.